Five golf greats will receive the game’s highest honor when they are inducted to The World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum in St. Augustine, FL.  The list of 2012 inductees includes Phil Mickelson, Hollis Stacy, Dan Jenkins, Sandy Lyle and Peter Alliss.  The Class of 2012 will be honored at the World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum Induction Ceremony on May 7, 2012 which is the kick-off event to THE PLAYERS Championship at TPC at Sawgrass May 8-13, 2012 in Ponte Vedra Beach, FL. 

Phil Mickelson is a four-time major championship winner and met the final qualification for the ballot when he turned 40 last year.  Hollis Stacy is a four-time LPGA major winner, and award-winning journalist Dan Jenkins was selected for a Lifetime Achievement Award.  Winning 29 tournaments including 18 on The European Tour, Sandy Lyle was elected through the International Ballot, while former player and longtime commentator Peter Alliss was selected via the Lifetime Achievement Category.

 01810 Phil Mickelson
Mickelson’s career is highlighted by his four major championship titles: the 2004, 2006 and 2010 Masters; and the 2005 PGA Championship. He has 35 additional PGA TOUR wins, including the 2007 PLAYERS Championship, and three international victories. He became eligible for the PGA TOUR Ballot after his 10th year on TOUR in 2003, and met the final qualification for that ballot when he turned 40 last year.



Hollis Stacy

Stacy’s career was defined by her successes in USGA events. She charged onto the golf scene by winning consecutive U.S. Girls’ Junior Championship titles from 1969-71 and remains the only player ever to win that event three times. As a professional, she won U.S. Women’s Open championships in 1977, 1978 and 1984. Stacy’s fourth major title came in 1983, when she won the Peter Jackson Classic (later named the du Maurier Classic).


read more +

No Comments